John Johnson was born on June 11, 1829 and was another influential Hulmeville citizen. He was the son of Clark and Rachel (Grim) Johnson, both buried in Beechwood Cemetery. John married Martha Ann Scott, daughter of Garret V. and Martha (Sisom) Scott. A short time after Mary Ann’s death on March 7, 1885, John married a second time to a woman named Ellen D., but she died within a few months. Both wives are buried at his side in Beechwood Cemetery.

One of John Johnson’s most enduring contributions to the area is a landmark building he erected on the corner of Main and Hulme Streets in Hulmeville. “Johnson’s Hall” was built in 1871 in the Italianate style, initially to serve three purposes: general store, meeting hall, and residence. Over the past 140 years, the building has served many additional functions including Odd Fellows’ Hall, Henry’s Store, a post office, and as a grocery store into the 1970s. The meeting hall has hosted weddings, plays, movies, concerts, recitals, graduations, and elections. Today Johnson Hall is home to Wild Violets Tea Garden, and shops for antiques, gifts, and apparel.

John Johnson died December 8, 1901.

John Johnson
John Johnson
Johnson Hall
Johnsonn Hall
John Johnson
  Johnson Graves
 
Printed in the Bucks County Gazette December 12, 1901,
less than one year after E.G. Harrison's death.
John Johnson Obit
     
 

Back to Founders Page

Address